How to replace each pixels from a video feed by an image ?

edited May 2017 in Library Questions

Hello Processing talented & helpful community :) I am Barbara, I am pretty new to Processing and I am working on a project that is giving me trouble right now. Figured maybe someone here would hear my call and help out !

So here is the deal : I have a pretty simple code, that basically displays the video from webcam feed, in pixels form. What I am trying to do is REPLACE each pixel by an image. Let's say I have 3 folders called : Blue Folder, Red Folder, Green Folder. In each folder I have 100 pictures. I want my code to randomly grab a picture in the folder in order to replace the pixel. So all red pixels will go grab pictures from the red folder. The results would look like a collage of hundreds of photos.

Do you think that is possible ? I have been on this for over 2 weeks and cannot figure it out :(

HERE IS MY BASIC CODE:

import processing.video.*;

int numPixels;
int blockSize = 10 ;
Capture video;
color collageColors[];

void setup() {
  size(displayWidth, displayHeight);
  noStroke();
  background(0);
  video = new Capture(this, displayWidth, displayHeight);
  numPixels = width / blockSize;
  collageColors = new color[numPixels * numPixels];
  video.start();
}

void captureEvent(Capture v) {
  v.read();
  v.loadPixels();

for (int j = 0; j < numPixels; j++) {
    for (int i = 0; i < numPixels; i++) {
      collageColors[j*numPixels + i] = v.get(i*blockSize, j*blockSize);
    }
  }
}

void draw()  {

if (video.available() == true) {
 video.read();
 image(video, 0, 0);
}

for (int j = 0; j < numPixels; j++) {
    for (int i = 0; i < numPixels; i++) {
      fill(collageColors[j*numPixels + i]);
      rect(i*blockSize, j*blockSize, blockSize-1, blockSize-1);

}
  }
}

Answers

• Please edit your post (gear icon in the top right corner of your post), select your code and hit ctrl+o to format your code. Make sure there is an empty line above and below your code.