New to programming (translate())

edited March 2017 in Programming Questions

Since I'm a noob, I know nothing but I am reading "Learning Processing" by Dan Shiffman and I'm confused about the translation stuff on page 230. On page 229, he translates a grid to (50, 50) and the top corner which is usually (0, 0) becomes (-50, -50), so okay translate() bends towards the left. Now for (0, 0) we need to move 50 pixels right on the x-axis and 50 pixels down the y-axis..... but on page 230, he does another example and translate rotates (100, 0). That would mean the usual (0, 0) is now (-100, 0) so the little circle (which is at (0, 0, 8, 8) should be 100 pixels to the right along the x-axis and not move down... but that's not where it is? He has 4 examples and I'm not sure which one is which... Out of the 4 examples, I think he has the little circle at (100, 20, 8, 8).

Also he has translate(-100, 0) (OMG a negative) with an ellipse(0, 0, 8, 8) with a comment saying move 100 pixels left... let's just say I have no idea what that means. I would imagine translate(-100, 0) would make the top right usual (0, 0) area be (100, 0).

In another book I have "Getting Started with P5.js," the translation makes sense. Is the translation function different from Processing to P5.js?

Tagged:

Answers

• Answer ✓

AFAIK, canvas matrix transformations are pretty much the same across Processing spinoffs.

Maybe the way you're picturing the subject is more complex than it should be: :-/

translate(50, 30);
    rect(0, 0, 20, 15);

Those 2 statements above are equivalent to just: rect(50, 30, 20, 15); O:-)

• Answer ✓

Here you can see a contrast between P5.js and Processing: https://github.com/processing/p5.js/wiki/Processing-transition

@tim50