total beginner: comparing array to mouseposition

edited February 2017 in Programming Questions

absolute beginner here :) hope i'm at the right place.

i have an array of x-coordinates – something like: float[] pos = {10,50,100,200,400}

i'd like to figure out if/when my mouse is within the range of two of these coordinates and output the according index. so let's say my mouse is within 0px and 10px, i'd like to return the index 0.. if it's within 10px and 50px, i'd wish for an index 1...

any hints on how to do that or where to read up on it? i'd be gracious.

Tagged:

Answers

• edited February 2017

******EDITED

The keyword break will force the exit in the for loop when the conditional is satisfied.

Kf

int[] xpos = {10, 50, 100, 200, 400};

void setup() {
      size(400, 600);
    }

void draw() {

int i;
      for (i=0; i<xpos.length; i++) {  
        if (mouseX<xpos[i]) {
          break;
        }
      }

println("MouseX "+mouseX+" at index " + i +" aka. less than "+xpos[i]+" pixs" );
    }

• edited February 2017 Answer ✓

Easy peasy-

int arrayCompare(float[] ar, float p){//return -1 if value is bigger than last value in array
      for(int i = 0; i < ar.length; i++){
        if(i == 0){
          if(p < ar[0])return 0;
        }else{
          if(p < ar[i])return i;
        }
      }
      return -1;
    }

• (It assumes that the values in the array are arranged in ascending order, and all values are preferably positive)

• kfrajer's fails for 5, should return 0, returns nothing

lord's fails to compile. can't return true when it's defined to return an int.

did either of you test your code? 8)

• can't return true when it's defined to return an int.

should return i, then it's all ok.

• edited February 2017

(Oops, didn't notice the problem :\"> And no, I don't test 90% of my code bcz I'm on tablet :D )