Launching code during setup() without typing code into setup() [something like eventlistener('setup

ensens
edited February 2017 in How To...

Hello!

I am new here so first i want to introduce myself. I work as an art & animation teacher in the Netherlands and i am medior practitioner with code. I know a lot about PHP/SQL, javascript and i had some projects with processing using the kinect.

My question: Is it possible to launch some code while the setup() is called, but without actualy typing that code in the setup(){} - for example: when setup() is triggered, can you use something like program.addeventlistener( onSetup, do this );

In my sketchfolder (main) are 2 files: main.pde and myclass.pde. In the main.pde we find the basic functions setup() and draw()

In the myclass.pde i have a class:

class myclass{ //constructor. myclass(){ println("myclass initialized..."); } }

Normaly, to activate/initiate the class, i have to go to main.pde setup()

myclass MC; void setup(){ myclass MC = new myclass(); } .... this works fine...

But now i want to know if it is possible to initiate the class when setup() is triggered, but without adding the [new myclass()] within the setup() function... something like this:

myclass MC; myproject.addeventlistner( "on setup", myclass MC = new myclass() );

class myclass{ //constructor. myclass(){ println("myclass initialized..."); } }

is this even possible??

I am working with processing 3.2.3

Thanks in advance.

Emiel

Answers

• Honestly, there would be no use of that.

initiate the class when setup() is triggered

You've got your concepts mixed up - one doesn't initiate a (non - static) class, one only initiates instances of the class, i.e. variables.

• And even if this was possible, I wouldn't recommend it as it goes against security.

• edited January 2017

@ens --

i want to know if it is possible to initiate the class when setup() is triggered, but without adding the [new myclass()] within the setup() function