What's causing the Array index out of bounds error?

edited December 2016 in Questions about Code

I am a programming beginner and am unsure what may be causing error: ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 2. I think it's either a logic error in the for loop or a syntax error with the array. Would anyone advise me with what is going wrong in the following code and how you might approach fixing an error like this. If I track the values on paper the numbers seem to be as i intended.

For reference I want the program to store p amount of grey colour values (plus black and white 0, 255) in an array. The values stored in the array occur at equal intervals. e.g p value of 5 should store:{ 0, 51, 102, 153, 204, 255 }.

Thanks for any help.

int p = 1;
int interval = 255 / p;
int[] vGreyPalette = new int [(p+1)];

void setup() {
   size(200, 200);
   noLoop();
 }

void draw () {

for (int i = 0; i == p; i++) {    
    vGreyPalette[i] =  (i * interval);
  }
  fill (vGreyPalette[int(random(p))]);
  rect(0, 0, width, height);

}

void keyPressed() {
  if (key == 'w') {
    p = p + 1;
    redraw();
  }
}

Answers

• I think you need to increase the size of the array when you increase p!

• edited December 2016

An array of size 2 contains two elements, numbered 0 and 1.

Your for loop looks odd, specifically the middle bit, i==p. Typically this is i < size of the thing you are iterating over.

• @neilcsmith_net the size of the array is p so it should scale as p increases(?) @koogs I forgot to mention that p increments when keyPressed is triggered! either way you can write i==p or i < (p+1), i think they are the same in this case

• edited December 2016

Err, no.

It loops whilst the middle clause is true, which it never is in your case. Add a println to the body to see.

Your array won't change size just because you increment p. Line 3 executes once using the value of p at that time. Changing p later won't change the size of the array.