Where should I start from if I am new in programming (music visualizer)

edited November 2016 in General Discussion

I need to create a music visualizer using Processing, where should I start if I want to learn how to code for creating a music visualizer? Is there any tutorial that teaches step by step on how to start?

Comments

• @Sheldon96 -- If you are new, start with the introduction and the basic tutorials, then once you have gotten the hang of creating a basic sketch, drawing a shape, using a color, moving or animating something (all things you will need for your visualizer), try the Sound tutorial, which teaches you a lot about music visualization and has a bunch of great examples. You definitely, definitely want to play around with introductory sketches first, though.

• Thanks Jeremy,

What about the ddf and minim? What does that mean? I tried to copy other peoples example and apparently there is many errors. Please help me

Thanks kf for your reply too.

• And also Jeremy, do i need to look on the text tutorials? If yes can you suggest me which one do I need for my music visualization?

• @Sheldon -- I see that your minim question was already answered.

Re: text tutorials -- what kind of music visualization do you want to make -- will it have text in it? There are so many kinds.

All tutorials help, but just start with the most basic basics, then try those Sound tutorial examples. If they don't make sense, go back to a few more Examples or look up terms you don't get in the Reference.

• Hi Jeremy,

I'm trying to make a music visualizer that shows emotion depending on the beat/fft of the song. Are you able to help me with that?

• shows emotion

What does that mean? It draws a smiley-face / frowny-face? It draws a redder or bluer background? It draws (lines / shapes) that move faster or slower?