assistance in creating a graph

edited November 2016 in How To...

I have to load a table into processing that displays the past year of stock prices for a specific company (11/1/2015 - 11/1/2016) that displays the high, low, open, and close prices of each day as well as the date. I then have to implement this table in order to display the stock process over the year for the stock. I have to create a graph in processing that shows the trends. I have to use "shape commands," average, moving average, floats and arrays. I have the table saved in exel as a csv.

I'm totally lost in all of this. I'm not sure how to load the table into the sketch, or what any of the commands i have to use mean, or how/where to use them in the sketch. any help whatsoever would be greatly appreciated, i'm new to processing and need whatever help that can be provided.

Tagged:

Answers

• Try to break your problem down into smaller steps. Can you just load the file and display it, or even just print it to the console?

• edited November 2016

I don't have a sketch created yet, do you mean the csv file? its just a downloaded csv off of yahoo finance of apple stocks in the past year, finance.yahoo.com/quote/AAPL/history?period1=1446350400&period2=1477972800&interval=1d&filter=history&frequency=1d

• Cool, sounds good. Which step are you stuck on? Can you get that loaded into a sketch? Just print it to the console for now.

• i did get it loaded into the sketch, this is all i have so far

void setup() {

loadTable("apple1.csv");

• my main source of confusion is that i don't understand where to use certain commands in order to create a graph within the sketch

• Again, break your problem down into smaller pieces.

If you want a line chart: can you get a line displaying on the screen? If you want a bar chart, can you get a rectangle displaying? Don't worry about the data yet.