Anyone using Redis pubsub in Processing? Need help with syntax

I have a RPi-based project that uses the Redis PubSub capability to pass data around between Python scripts and Node.js and even a Lua app. I want to add a feature built in Processing and need my sketch to listen on a channel and publish its data to other processes as well. I have installed the Redis library which I understand is a wrapper for Jedis, the canonical Java Redis implementation. I can use the one simple example file to set and get a variable. But I have no idea what syntax to use to subscribe and publish to channels. I am fairly new to Processing and don't know much about Java. In my Python scripts publishing is easy but listening to channels involves getting a redis.pubsub instance in a Thread class instance, subscribing to my channel, and then running the pubsub.listen() method in the thread's run loop. Can anyone help me?

Answers

• Is this the library that you have installed?

Did you look at the documentation and usage examples for it and for Jedis? I'm not a Redis expert, but it might be easier for the forum to help you if you posted a minimal and complete code example of what you currently have and what you are trying to do -- see for comparison the Redis for Processing example sketch and Usage example.

• Hi Jeremy, thanks for the response. I will try to be clearer. Yes that is the library I have installed and the example sketch:

import de.voidplus.redis.*;
    Redis redis;

void setup(){
        // ...
        redis = new Redis(this, "127.0.0.1", 6379);
        redis.set("key", "value");
        println(redis.get("key"));
    }