Best program practices for a multi-quiz game screen managment?

edited May 2016 in p5.js

Hello guys, I'm new to web development and need to program quiz with sound,images and a lot of interactivity, and I just found that p5.js is the perfect solution for me.

My problem is that I have like more than 10 questions with different kind of inputs (each of them with their own rules and some with the same rules) and an introduction screen. And I really confused how can I organize this, how is the best way to keep my code clean, because the tutorials that I followed the usually do the examples in a single file, and I think that if I program something like this at the draw function ( if question == 1 { question, answers, Rules rules rules rules rules } if question == 2 {question, answers different rules rules } ) it will be an huge mess.

So, I need some solution for multiple-screens, but that share some global variables.

I think that should be the same for a game with multiple levels, where you keep some "rules" of the world and just change the stages/levels/screens/enemies.

Edit: Ps: The user should be able to back to any previous question already answered and modify the current answer.

Sorry about my english, i hope that it si not confuse.

Thanks !

Tagged:

Answers

• edited May 2016

Yes, for the screens use a var int state=0; which can be 0,1,2,3 e.g.

e.g. introductory, help, askQuestion, checkAnswer, quizIsOver or so.....

You can even declare those states (give them names) as

final int introductory =0;
    final int help=1;
    final int askQuestion=1;    
    final int checkAnswer=1;        

Additionally use an array for questions and one for answers

String[] questions={"what...?","...?",".....?"};

And an index to mark where you are: int index=0;

increment index when going to next question

• Answer ✓

I am not familiar with p5.js but I have done something similar in JAVA mode. The basic idea is to separate the display engine from the question data