Error relating to NEWT Display Class

edited September 2015 in Using Processing

I'm brand new to Processing, (V3, under Windows XP), and have been running the examples in the >File >Examples menu, to get a feel for how 'Processing' works, but for many I get this error:- java.lang.ClassnotFoundException: Failed to find NEWT Display Class<.windows.DisplayDriver>

and in the bottom pane it says: at jogamp.newt.DisplayImpl.getDisplayClass(DisplayImpl.java:262) and at jogamp.newt.DisplayImpl.create(DisplayImpl.java:270)

One example this happens with is "MoveEye"

Can anyone help me to work out what is going on? Any help will be much appreciated. ... Steve

Edit: There are a bunch of other related errors too, that I missed, all starting the same, with "at jogamp.newt......."

Tagged:

Answers

• Make sure you have updated your graphics card drivers. All these errors are related to OpenGL

• edited September 2015

I just checked on the Intel website, and I already have the latest available graphics drivers installed. I re-installed, just in case, but no difference. These drivers were written in 2008. Is that likely to be the problem?

• Possibly but its not my area of expertise.

Try this in PS3

void settings(){
      size(400, 300, P3D); // Use OpenGL renderer
    }

void setup(){
    }

void draw(){
      background(255); // white background
    }

This is the most basic sketch. If it doesn't work then try changing line 2 to

size(400, 300); // Use default Java2D renderer

If this second attempt works then it is an OpenGL problem, probably related to your computer setup rather than Processing.

If neither work then I suggest that you try re-installing Processing again.

If that doesn't work I have no more ideas perhaps someone else will.

• edited September 2015

First up, thank you very much for your help, quark. I'll leave this problem open, in case someone comes up with a potential solution. Not looking good, though.