Using Capture() with G4P. Urgent Help Please!

edited June 2014 in Library Questions

Hi,

Thanks in advance for your help. I am a beginner in Processing and in need of urgent advice. I need webcam to output frames into a second window, which I am using G4P library for. However, myCapture.read() either gets stuck in a frame or the fps count is very low so the video feed is not smooth. The draft code I tried is below:

import processing.video.*;
import g4p_controls.*;

Capture myCapture;
private GWindow window2;

GWinData data2;

void setup()
{
  size(640, 480);
  // The name of the capture device is dependent on
  // the cameras that are currently attached to your
  // computer. To get a list of the
  // choices, uncomment the following line
  println(Capture.list());

data2 = new GWinData();

window2 = new GWindow(this, "web cam", 0,0, width,height, true, OPENGL);
  window2.setActionOnClose(G4P.CLOSE_WINDOW);
  //window2.setResizable(true);
  //window2.addData(data2);
  window2.addDrawHandler(this, "Window2draw");

print("debug");
  // To select the camera, replace "Camera Name"
  // in the next line with one from Capture.list()
  myCapture = new Capture(this, width, height, "FaceTime HD Camera (Built-in)", 30);

// This code will try to use the camera used
  //myCapture = new Capture(this, width, height, 30);
  print("debug1");
  myCapture.start();
}

void Window2draw(GWinApplet b, GWinData d){

if(myCapture.available())
  {
  myCapture.read();
  b.image(myCapture, 0, 0);
  }
}

void draw() {
  if(myCapture.available()){
    myCapture.read();
    image(myCapture, 0, 0);
  }
}

When I use 3 windows, the problem only gets worse and the camera freezes on the first frame. This is true for both the internal (Built in) and external logitech webcam. Im using Processing 2.0+ on Mac btw.

Thanks. BTW, G4P has been very helpful for this application.

Answers

• Answer ✓