Speed of screenshots

edited January 2017 in Questions about Code

Hi Folks,

I'm brand new to processing having previously only messed around with Arduino, so please be gentle.

This may be a story you've read before... I'm toying with the idea of building an ambilight-like setup to run on my Server 2008r2/Kodi PC that plays through my TV. As much as a learning exercise as anything else. Processing>Arduino>Addressable RGB LEDs seems like a decent approach.

I thought I'd start with sampling the display in processing and work along the chain. After a bit of copy/pasting examples and googling I've got this as a very basic, very first step:

import java.awt.Robot;
import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.image.*;

boolean display = false;

PImage screenShot;

int thisTime = 0;
int lastTime = 0;
int frameTime = 0;

boolean prevMouseState = false;

void setup()
{
  size( displayWidth/2, displayHeight/2 );
  // background( 0 );
}

void draw()
{
  thisTime = millis();

screenShot();

frameTime=(thisTime-lastTime);
  lastTime=thisTime;

if (mousePressed == true && mousePressed != prevMouseState) {
    display=!display;
  }

if (display == true) {
    image( screenShot, 0, 0, width, height);
    fill(255);
    rect(10, 10, 55, 30);
    fill(0);
    textSize(26);
    text(1000/frameTime, 12, 35);
  }

println(1000/frameTime);
}  

void screenShot()
{
  try {
    Robot robot = new Robot();
    screenShot = new PImage(robot.createScreenCapture(new Rectangle(0, 0, displayWidth, displayHeight)));
  } 
  catch ( AWTException e ) {
    e.printStackTrace();
  }
}  

I realise it's probably not the best test ever, but have I got something horribly wrong or could the laptop I'm trying this out on only be capable of grabbing the screen 7-10 times a second, and my media box only 45-50ish?

The laptop's a celeron with 4GB ram @1366*768, media PCs a core 2 duo with 8GB ram @1920x1080. Neither are monsters, but 7Hz with nothing else going on yet?!